Trackops allows you to provide online case access to your staff, vendors and clients alike. Using a combination of permissions, roles, and access groups, you have the ability to customize what each user, or type of user, will see when they login.
Configuring Your User Settings
Before creating users in your system, its always best to organize the default settings in accordance of how your employees, vendors, and clients will use the system. There are some questions you should ask when setting up your system, such as:
- Do I want to provide files and updates to my clients that I don't want my investigators, to see? How about vice-versa?
- If you answered yes to this, you should look into configuring access groups to shield information from different types of people. For example, when uploading files, you could specify those files as Internal, and your investigators would see them, but your client would not. You can create your own access groups, and decide which user roles can see them.
- Do I have employees with more responsibility than others? Do some employees need access to different parts of the system than others (i.e. invoicing)?
- If you answered yes to this, you should create separate user roles for each job function in your company. Roles are simply a collection of permissions, and while you could configure each individual's permissions one by one, it's much faster to create a role that will automatically configure them for you. In addition, you can decide which access groups each role can be a part of, making it easy to protect files and case updates from certain roles.
Deleting/Archiving a User
Trackops will never "permanently remove" a user from your system, meaning that even when you delete a contact, an archived record will always remain. This is important so that you can still track activity on historical cases, and related case activities. In addition, a deleted user can easily be recovered should you ever decide to do so.
To delete an employee or vendor, click the Staff tab and go to Staff List, otherwise click the Clients tab and go to Client Contacts. From here, search for the user(s) you wish to delete. Check the boxes next to their name(s) and then click the white Delete button above the check boxes.
Once the selected users have been deleted, their historical information will still exist throughout the system, however they will no longer be able to login, or be assigned to cases, or other connecting data.
Undeleting a User
To restore a deleted user, simply filter the staff or contact list by Deleted Staff or Deleted Contacts. From here, check the box(es) next to the user(s) you wish to undelete and click the Undelete button above the check box list. This action will restore the account to an active status.
Note: After a user is un-deleted, their access level will remain Disabled. If you'd like this user to be able to login, you must edit their profile and change their access level.